White Rock Racing Labor Day 5K

For the first time in what seems like sixteen thousand months, the temperatures on Labor Day morning were below seventy degrees.  Perfect day for a run, at the White Rock Racing club’s Labor Day 5K/15K race.  And the cooler temps must have been a factor, because I shaved over a minute off my personal best for the 5K.

(That graphic is clearly for last year’s race.)

Overall I clocked  27:28, down from 28:32 last month, for an 8:50/mile pace.  That placed me 40th overall, 32nd among men, and 4th among men in my age group.

Overall I felt good.  I had enough gas in the tank for a strong sprint at the finish, and I wasn’t shouting “NEVER AGAIN!” afterwards.  Just a few minutes of walking around gulping Gatorade, and I was ready for the next race.

I love this sport.

Leave a comment

Filed under Running

Leave a Reply

