2011 Rockwall Rib Rub and Run

This weekend I participated in another 5K race, my fourth in as many months.  This one was in my hometown, so there was no way I could pass it up.  The race was a part of a city event called Rib Rub and Run, which also featured a BBQ cook-off and live music on the town square.

The race started on time, and took us through some back streets and around Harry Myers Park.  This was my first race in which vehicle traffic was a factor, but Rockwall’s Finest was on hand to make sure no one got plowed over by an SUV. 

And the results?  Once again, I’m pleased to say I made a personal best, beating my previous time by more than thirty seconds.  I finished the 5K in 15th place overall for a time of 26:54.  That’s an 8:40 per mile pace, beating my best pace by ten seconds per mile. 

After the race I wandered around the square enjoying the smell of smoke and BBQ, although it was a bit early for lunch just yet.  I ate a couple of breakfast burritos before heading home smelling of BO, smoke . . . and glory

Okay, not glory so much, but definitely like BO and smoke.  Which in certain circles is exactly the smell of glory.

Leave a comment

Filed under Running

Leave a Reply

